PDP Condemns Human Right Abuses And Harassment Of Opposition By Buhari Administration



At the End of the 69th National Executive Committee (NEC) Meeting of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) held on Monday, March 7, 2016 at the PDP National Secretariat, Abuja; the party issued a Communiqué, part of which is titled “Erosion of Fundamental Human Rights and Harassment of Opposition In Nigeria”, and reads as follows:

  1. NEC considered the erosion of fundamental human rights and constitutionally guaranteed personal liberty of Nigeria, especially key leaders of the PDP by the APC-led Federal Government and resolved as follows:
  2. Condemned the incessant harassment, maltreatment and unlawful incarceration of PDP leaders at various levels by Government controlled law enforcement and prosecution agencies.

  3. Condemned the Friday, March 4, 2016 invasion and raiding of Ekiti State House of Assembly and subsequent arrest and continued detention of four PDP members of the House by the Directorate of State Services (DSS) on trumped-up charges.

  4. Demanded the immediate and unconditional release of the four PDP members of the Ekiti House of Assembly by the DSS.

  5. Resolved to stand in solidarity with all Nigerians whose fundamental rights as citizens are being infringed upon by the Federal Government.

  6. Called on the international community and all civil rights organizations world-wide to take note of the denial of fundamental human rights, abuse of liberties and freedom of individuals; and the rapid descent of Nigeria into totalitarianism.

  7. NEC also condoled with the families of its 18 members who were brutally murdered in Ogoni land in Rivers state as well as with the Federal Government and the Government of Kogi State over the unfortunate death of the late Minister of state for Labour, Barr. James Ocholi, and resolved to send a high-powered delegation to condole with his family.

  8. NEC in session also congratulated all its members who won in their rerun elections, including former Senate President, Senator David Mark.


Senator Ali-Modu Sherrif, National Chairman.

Prof Adewale Olapido, National Secretary.